

# High-Level Meeting among Members of Parliament, Ministers, and Vice Ministers

Ha Noi, Viet Nam, 4 December 2019

## Parliament, government officials agree to invest in young children in Ha Noi meet

Chaired by Ngo Thi Minh, Deputy Chairman of the National Assembly's Committee for Youth Education and Children of the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, a high-level meeting among members of parliament, ministers, and vice ministers was held in Ha Noi, Viet Nam on 4 December 2019.

The objectives of the meeting were to (1) share country experiences in advancing legislation, policies, and programmes on ECD and (2) explore opportunities for collaboration within and outside countries in the Asia-Pacific region to advance the agenda for young children.

Each country representative had a brief presentation of ECD initiatives. A moderated discussion followed after, sharing successful practices between parliament and ministries on ECD investments and practices.

## objectives and history

The meeting between members of parliament and government officials was one of the innovative practices that emerged from the 2019 Asia-Pacific Regional Conference on Early Childhood Development (ECD) in Ha Noi, Viet Nam, stressing the importance of collaboration between the government and the parliament in promoting ECD.

## Key discussion points and agreements

- Need for increased human capital investments, 1 especially for young children, recognised
- Collaboration between parliaments and ministries important in mobilising budget support for ECD
- Current ECD programmes need to be efficient and 3 effective, especially if public resources are constrained
- Partnerships within the country, in the region, and 4 across regions for ECD important
- Constituency and capacity to exact accountability 5 for ECD raised

## **Members of Parliament, Ministers, and Vice Ministers**

Ha Noi, Viet Nam, 4 December 2019

Hon. Ngo Thi Minh, Viet Nam Chair

Le Van Thanh, Viet Nam Co-Chair

Karin Hulshof, UNICEF

### **Members of Parliament**

Hon. Satya Pahadi, Nepal

Hon. Dr. Bimala Rai Paudyal, Nepal

Hon. Mehnaz Akber Aziz, Pakistan

Hon. Sili Epa Tuioti, Samoa

Hon. Dr. Ifereimi Wagainabete, Fiji

Hon. Tshering Chhoden, Bhutan

Hon. Kesang Chuki Dorjee, Bhutan

Hon. David Collins, Kiribati

Hon. Fazilatun Nessa Indira, Bangladesh

#### Government Officials

Khanthaly Siriphongphan, Lao PDR

H.E. Soe Aung, Myanmar

#### Guest

Wu Haiying, All China Women's Federation

#### **ARNEC**

Dr. Sheldon Shaeffer